Governing Body Members are:

(Note: There are vacancies for a Staff Governor and for Co-opted Governors.)
See bottom of page for Register of Pecuniary Interests. Minute reports available on request.

stiktin Mr Stephen Tiktin – Chair and Co-opted Governor

Term of office: 20 November 2013 – 19 November 2017

Committees/Responsibilities: Finance committee, Training Link Governor, Gifted & Talented, SEN, KS2 Link Governor

By profession I am a chartered management accountant but retired in 2004 after a long career working for BP both here in the UK and abroad.

I have been a governor for other schools here in Leighton Buzzard since 2007 and was invited to join the Governing Body at Beaudesert in 2013 – being elected to the role of Chair of Governors from January 2014. I sit on the Local Authority Schools’ Forum representing Lower Schools’ interest in its deliberations.

I hope that the wide experience accumulated during my professional career and involvement as a governor in other schools will prove invaluable to Beaudesert, its governing body, its pupils and their families.

aguess2 Mrs Anne Guess – Vice Chair and Co-opted Governor

Term of office: 18 May 2015 – 17 May 2019

Committees/Responsibilities: School Improvement Group,  Finance committee, Pay committee, Headteacher’s Performance Management, Numeracy Governor and Early Years Link Governor
I have been a governor of Beaudesert Lower School since 2007. I was initially elected as a representative for Leighton Linslade Town Council, but I stayed on as a Community Governor when I did not get re-elected as a councillor in 2011. I am subject link governor for Numeracy and a Phase Link Governor for Early Years. I am also a member of the school improvements group sub-committee and the Finance Committee. I have lived in Leighton Buzzard since 1976 and until 2002 worked as a civilian civil servant at RAF Stanbridge. I am quite involved in the community, being the Chair for the Twinning Forum and the PPG at my Doctors as well as the treasurer for the local Civil Service Retirement Fellowship Group, the Carnival Committee and The Friends of Tiddenfoot. I am widowed and have 3 children and 5 grandchildren.

Vanessa Pearce Head Teacher

Mrs Vanessa Pearce- Head Teacher

Term of office: 10 March 2015 – 9 March 2019 Committees/Responsibilities: School Improvement Group, Finance committee

Mrs H Tearle Governor  Mrs Hannah Tearle – Safeguarding and Local Authority Governor

Committees/Responsibilities: School Improvement Group and Safeguarding

Hannah is a children’s nurse who has over 17 years experience of working with 0-19’s in various settings within the NHS and charitable sector. Currently Hannah is the Senior Sister of the Children’s Inpatient Unit at Keech Hospice Care. Hannah has experience of safeguarding and she has a keen interest in the physical, mental and emotional well being of children. Hannah has a son who is currently in early years and is committed to the continued growth and development of Beaudesert to benefit the children within the lower school.

Mrs Samantha Maxwell – Co-opted Governor

Term of office: October 2016 – October 2020

Committees/Responsibilities: Finance Committee, Health and Safety Governor

Samantha has been an Environmental Health Officer for over 16 years and previously worked in the London Borough of Brent for eight years enforcing food and health and safety legislation in premises such as restaurants, hotels, schools, nurseries and food manufacturers. She currently work as an Independent Environment Health Consultant and Strategic Adviser for private clients such as food manufacturers, nurseries, spas and restaurants to ensure they are legally compliant.

She has worked with nurseries for over nine years carrying out audits, developing manuals, policies and procedures, training staff and chairing health and safety committee meetings. Samantha is keen to share her knowledge and experience of health and safety in the childcare sector with Beaudesert and is looking forward to supporting the staff, children, parents and governing body.

As a parent of a 23 year old daughter and 14 year old son, Samantha has always had an interest in how a school can impact on children’s lives, development and future which is one of the main reasons she decided to become a governor.

“Beaudesert is a fantastic school which is currently achieving great things, with a clear vision for the future and I’m very excited about being a part of that journey”.

Karen Smith – Parent Governor 

Term of office: 29th January 2018 – 28th January 2022

Karen is a qualified teacher with 18 years experience of teaching across Key Stage One and Foundation Stage. In her previous teaching role she was the EYFS lead teacher and SENDCO. She also served as a staff representative on the governing body for ten years.
Karen is currently working as an Early Years Educator and Deputy SENDCO at a local day nursery.
Karen has a son in Year 2 and hopes that her youngest son will be joining Beaudesert in September 2020.

Mrs Sandra Moore – Co-opted Governor

Term of office: 29th March 2017 – 28th March 2021

   Ms Sue Fitzpatrick – Staff Governor 

Term of office: 18th October 2017 – 18th October 2021

Deputy Head Teacher

Mrs Nina Biscoe – Clerk to Governing Body 

Minute reports available on request

Register of Pecuniary Interests

CLICK HERE Governor Register of Business and Pecuniary Interests revised May 2019

Governors Pecuniary Interests